Glimpse of the Storeroom

 

A museum collects objects that it preserves, researches and documents. Since it has long been the case that not all objects in a collection can be exhibited, many of them remain in the storerooms of museums, where they await further investigation.

The Swiss Rifle Museum is continuously researching its collections. At this point, an object from the storeroom is introduced and presented on the basis of the current state of research.

 

CURRENT

     

Jakob Schwegler (1793 in Hergiswil bei Willisau – 1866 in Lucerne, actually Philipp Jakob Schwegler)
Aloysia Meyer, from Malters, canton of Lucerne, 14 years old, circa 1832
Lithograph
signed: “J. Schwegler del.”/” Lith. v. Gebr. Eglin Lucerne”

 

The picture shows 14-year-old Aloysia Meyer. She stands at a shooting range, which is indicated by the target shown at the right edge of the image. Her gaze is focused on the rifle she holds in her hands. The girl wears the traditional costume, as was usual at festive occasions at that time. She has put several cards in her attractively decorated hat. Shooting booklets were not yet used until 1880. The results of the hits were noted on a sheet.

After the Fribourg clergy categorically forbade all women to enter the festival in 1829, a woman took part in a federal shooting event for the first time in 1832 in Lucerne, namely Aloysia Meyer. This unusual event has left a lasting impression. A lithograph portraying the girl could be purchased for 16 francs according to the “Federal shooting Almanac for the years 1832 & 1833” (page 46):

“This […] Portrait depicts the 14-year-old daughter of the valiant shooter Meyer of Malters, in the canton of Lucerne, at the moment when she is lifting up the weapon, prepearing to shoot. This girl has also been generally admired at the Federal Rifle Championships in Lucerne, both because of the dexterity with which she knows how to handle the weapon, and for her concise shooting.” (pages 46-47).

Subsequently, the educationalist Friedrich Ludwig Jahn (1778 – 1852), is quoted, with regard to the wish that “[the] Swiss women would like to take heed of the words of the good German man”:

“Great is the destiny of the woman! Education, though, and housekeeping is their first business; But when required, the girl and the woman can help to defend the fatherland. […] They want to die with their husbands, lovers, and brothers for freedom, or help to win.”

Jakob Schwegler created the preliminary drawing for the lithograph, which is followed by the addition “del.” [for delineavit, has drawn] after the name. In 1821, he worked with Lukas Ahorn to create the lion monument in Lucerne. The lithograph originates from the Eglin brothers of Lucerne.

 

 

 

 

PAST ARCHIVE

      

Laurent Marqueste (1848–1920)
Nike
(Greek goddess of victory), before 1912
Bronze Signed: Marqueste / F. Barbedienne. Fondeur.
On red marble base with engraved brass plate: XVIE MATCH INTERNATIONAL AU FUSIL BAYONNE-BIARRITZ 1912. 1ER PRIX
Inv. no. 12-26011

 

This beautiful bronze sculpture originates from the French sculptor Laurent Honore Marqueste (1848-1920). It was cast by the important foundry of Ferdinand Barbedienne (1810-1892) in Paris. The Greek mythological figure of Nike, the goddess of victory, corresponds to the Roman goddess Victoria. She is not only evoked by the battle but also the peaceful contest for victory.

The figure stands on a hemisphere and holds a laurel wreath in her right hand, the so-called victor’s laurel. Her arm is stretched out in a gesture of an award ceremony. In the left hand the goddess holds a palm branch. In Greek mythology it is dedicated to Apollo, the god of light, spring, healing and prophecy, as well as the fine arts and archery. It is the branch of the Greek date palm (phoenix), which symbolises the resurrection and thus triumph. As a sign of the resurrection, the palm later finds its way into Christian symbolism. The spreading wings of the goddess of victory are striking. They are her most important attribute. In a battle or in a competition, fortune turns steadily and finally flies to the victor.

The sculpture was awarded to the victorious nation as first prize, on the occasion of the sixteenth international free rifle shooting competition in 1912 in Bayonne-Biarritz (FR) – in addition to a cash sum of Fr. 1’000.00. Its value was estimated at Fr. 500.00 (Schweizerische Schützen-Zeitung [Swiss shooting publication] from June 22nd 1912, year XXXI, no. 25, p. 186). 10 nations participated in the rifle shooting competition. The Swiss group, consisting of Konrad Stäheli, Marcel Meyer de Stadelhofen, Kaspar Widmer, Fritz Kuchen and Mathias Brunner, took the lead over France. Stäheli went down into the lying and kneeling positions. He achieved the final victory in the contest with a total score of 1’078 points in all three positions.

The sculpture was included in the collection on 26 November 1939, on the day of the inauguration of the Swiss Rifle Museum in Berne.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Current

 

Special Exhibition

 

Glimpse of the Storeroom

→ Glimpse of the storeroom

Vue dans le dépôt

 

Un musée collectionne des objets qu’il préserve, étudie et présente. Tous les objets de la collection ne pouvant être exposés longtemps, nombre d’entre eux restent dans le dépôt, où ils attendent par exemple de faire l’objet de nouvelles recherches.

Le Musée suisse du tir explore en permanence son fonds et expose ici une pièce à chaque fois différente issue de son dépôt, qu’il présente à la lumière de ses dernières découvertes.

 

ACTUELLEMENT

     

Jakob Schwegler (1793 à Hergiswil bei Willisau 1866 à Lucerne; nom complet Philipp Jakob Schwegler)
Aloysia Meyer, de Malters, canton de Lucerne, 14 ans, vers 1832
Lithographie
Inscription: «J. Schwegler del.» / «Lith. v. Gebr. Eglin Luzern»

 

Aloysia Meyer, tireuse de 14 ans, est représentée sur cette image. Elle se tient à un stand de tir, dont la bordure droite laisse deviner la présence d’une cible. Son regard est concentré et dirigé sur l’arme qu’elle tient dans les mains. La jeune fille porte un costume comme il était d’usage à cette époque pour les fêtes. Elle a placé plusieurs cartes dans son chapeau joliment décoré. Avant l’invention des carnets de tir vers 1880, les points étaient comptabilisés sur un billet.

Après l’interdiction en 1829 par le clergé fribourgeois de l’accès à la place de fête aux femmes, une tireuse s’est présentée pour la première fois en 1832 à une fête fédérale, à Lucerne: Aloysia Meyer. Cet événement inhabituel a laissé une impression durable. Il était ainsi possible d’acquérir une lithographie de la jeune fille pour 16 francs, d’après «l’almanach fédéral de tir de 1832 et 1833» (page 46):

«Cette image […] représente la fillette de 14 ans du brave tireur Meyer de Malters, du canton de Lucerne, au moment où elle saisit la carabine pour tirer. La jeune fille a forcé l’admiration générale à la fête fédérale du tir à Lucerne, en raison de l’habileté avec laquelle elle maniait l’arme, mais aussi et surtout, en raison de l’assurance de son tir.» (pp. 46-47).

L’éducateur Friedrich Ludwig Jahn (1778 1852) est cité en conclusion, avec le vœu que «[les] Suissesses veuillent suivre les mots du brave Allemand»:

«Grande est la détermination de la femme! En dépit de leur éducation et de l’économie domestique qui leur incombe, lorsque l’urgence de la situation l’exige, la jeune fille et la femme doivent elles aussi participer à la défense de la patrie. […] Elles veulent mourir avec leurs époux, amant et frères pour la liberté ou pour faciliter la victoire.»

L’ébauche de la lithographie est signée Jakob Schwegler, d’où la mention «del.» [pour delineavit, a dessiné] après son nom. En 1821, alors qu’il travaillait pour le sculpteur Lukas Ahorn, il a participé à la réalisation du monument du lion de Lucerne. La lithographie est l’œuvre des Frères Eglin de Lucerne.

 

 

 

 

ARCHIVES

      

Laurent Marqueste (1848 – 1920)
Niké (déesse grecque de la Victoire), avant 1912
Bronze
Signature: L. Marqueste / F. Barbedienne. Fondeur.
Sur un socle de marbre rouge doté d’une plaque de laiton où est gravée l’inscription suivante: XVIE MATCH INTERNATIONAL AU FUSIL BAYONNE-BIARRITZ 1912. 1ER PRIX
No inventaire: 12-26011

 

Cette belle sculpture en bronze est l’œuvre du sculpteur Laurent-Honoré Marqueste (1848 – 1920). Elle a été fondue dans la remarquable fonderie de Ferdinand Barbedienne (1810 – 1892) à Paris. Cette sculpture représente une figure du Panthéon grec, Niké, ou Victoire dans la mythologie romaine. Elle est invoquée non seulement sur les champs de bataille, mais aussi à l’occasion de compétitions amicales, pour s’assurer la victoire.

La silhouette se dresse sur un hémisphère et tient dans sa main droite une couronne de lauriers, aussi appelée «couronne triomphale». Son bras est tendu dans un geste de remise de prix. Dans la main gauche de Niké se trouve un rameau de palmier. Dans la mythologie grecque, celui-ci se réfère à Apollon, Dieu de la Lumière, du Printemps, de la Guérison et de la Prophétie, ainsi que des Arts et de l’Arc. Il s’agit d’un rameau du dattier-palmier grec (Phoenix), qui symbolise la résurrection et par là même, le triomphe. Du fait de cette symbolique, le palmier entrera ultérieurement dans l’imagerie chrétienne. Autre élément frappant chez la déesse: ses ailes largement déployées, qui constituent son attribut le plus important. En effet, dans une bataille ou une compétition, la chance tourne sans cesse pour voler en fin de compte vers le vainqueur.

La sculpture constitua le 1er prix remis à la nation victorieuse à l’issue du XVIe Match international au fusil qui s’est tenu à Bayonne-Biarritz en 1912, en plus d’un montant de 1’000.00 francs en espèces. Sa valeur fut chiffrée à 500.00 francs (Gazette des Carabiniers Suisses du 22. Juin 1912, année XXXI, no 25, p. 184). Dix nations participèrent à ce match. Le groupe suisse, constitué de Konrad Stäheli, Marcel Meyer de Stadelhofen, Kaspar Widmer, Fritz Kuchen et Mathias Brunner, était en tête devant les Français. Il incomba à K. Stäheli de gagner les positions allongée et à genoux. Avec un décompte total de 1’078 points dans les trois positions, il remporta la victoire.

La sculpture a rejoint la collection le 26 novembre 1939, le jour de l’inauguration du Musée suisse du tir à Berne.

 

 

 

Actualité

 

Exposition particulière

 

Vue dans le dépôt

→ Vue dans le dépôt