Museum guide

Welcome to the Swiss Shooting Museum Bern. We are looking forward to your visit.

Introduction

The development of marksmanship in Switzerland

Swiss marksmanship is based on traditions that date back centuries. Training with the bow and arrow, as well as the crossbow and the spear, served to chase quarry, but also to defend against predators and occasionally
fellow humans.

Although black gunpowder was already invented in the 14th Century, the crossbow was the dominant weapon up to the middle of the 15th Century. In the Burgundy Wars (1474 – 1477), only half the guards were equipped with hand-held firearms. In Switzerland, these were mentioned for the first time in 1377 (11 rifles in St. Gallen).

Up to the 17th Century, the crossbow was also considered a «noble» weapon. For training purposes but also for the amusement – principally on Sundays – it was shot for example at discs or wooden animal figures.

Several shooting competitions, such as the «Knabenschiessen» contest in Zurich, which was documented for the first time in the 15th Century, originate from those traditions.

Target shooting was practiced not only in rural areas but also in the cities, some of which had only just been founded. From the 14th Century, guilds and brotherhoods were founded there.

Target shooting offered an opportunity to meet and consolidate alliances between neighbours. In 1378, Solothurn invited the «gemein Schjss-gsellen» [common shooting fellows] from various federal locations. Even abroad, the riflemen travelled to participate in shooting events, for example in 1485 to Munich or in 1563 to Vienna.

The strengthening of the armed forces went hand in hand with the growth of the cities. Against the backdrop of the Old Zurich War and the Burgundian Wars, organised shooting experienced an upswing from the middle of the 15th Century. The endeavour to found further societies was generously supported by the authorities via donations and the granting of privileges with a view to external defence. During this time, the major rifle societies were founded, such as those in Berne, Basel and Geneva. In the Schaffhausen Council minutes in 1477, a shooting society was mentioned, which also accepted women as members.

Such societies are regarded as the forerunners of today's shooting clubs. For training purposes, the members met under their rifle master on the shooting range, later in club buildings on the upland shooting meadows. At organised competitions, riflemen from different locations met and if the festivities were extended to friends, so-called freely invited visitors, the festival became a so-called free shooting event.

The Swiss Shooting Association

In 1789, the revolution broke out in Paris. There was also unrest and uprisings in Switzerland. In 1798, the Helvetian Republic replaced the old Swiss Confederation, followed by several coups, and in 1803 the Mediation Act, a diktat of Napoleon Bonaparte, was adopted, which restored the old cantonal system. After Napoleon's defeat in the Russian campaign (1812) and his exile, the pre-revolutionary authorities took over power in Switzerland at the end of 1813, and the old constitutions, with their social and political inequalities, were reinstated.

In the turmoil of these times, there was no place for any shooting festivals or gatherings. It was not until 1815 that the Congress of Vienna restored orderly conditions in recognition of the Swiss Neutrality. With the awareness of having a free fatherland, new shooting societies were formed throughout the country.

The first ideas for the merger of the riflemen into a federal association were published in 1820. During the Cantonal Shooting Festival in Aarau in 1822, a proposal was made for the foundation of a Swiss National Shooting Association. In 1823 the following resolution was issued: «The first Federal Shooting Festival will take place at Aarau in 1824 and the Swiss National Shooting Association will be launched on this occasion [...].» On March 6, 1824, the Shooting Association of Aarau invited all known shooting clubs in Switzerland to establish the national shooting association.

The first Federal Shooting Festival in Aarau from 7 to 12 June 1824 therefore also brought with it the founding of the Swiss Shooting Association (swissshooting).

The Swiss Shooting Museum

The 31st Federal Shooting Festival took place in Berne in 1885. During this event the organisers decided to set up a so-called «Schützenstube» [Shooters’ Room]. Its purpose was to collect, display and preserve shooting trophies for posterity.

The ground floor of the so-called «Hallerhaus» at Inselgasse 5 (now Kochergasse) served as a venue. In 1894, the collections were relocated to the newly built Museum of History in Berne. In 1904, the Swiss Shooting Association took over the patronage of the Shooters’ Room and in 1914 the Shooting Museum was founded.

In 1937, the assembly of delegates of the Swiss Shooting Association decided to build a new museum building at Bernastrasse 5. The Swiss Shooting Museum began operating at its current location in 1939.

In 1987 and 1990, the museum was renovated inside and outside. The reconstruction of the second floor was completed in 2004.

 

Tour of the Collections

Outer Façade

Voluntary shooting in Switzerland is depicted in a painting above the entrance by the Bernese artist Friedrich Traffelet (1897 – 1954). The standard bearer with the Gruyere alpine herdsman and a workman at his side, are central figures and embody as a group the Swiss people. On the right, a white-haired veteran rifleman points at the Swiss flag to remind a young shooter and a boy with a crossbow of their loyalty to the fatherland. The figures are flanked to the left and right by soldiers. They symbolise the protection of the border from outside incursions. Traffelet partly gave the figures the appearance of members of the construction committee for the new museum building.

Right of the entrance are four sculptures of rightful presidents of the Swiss Shooting Association on the façade. They were made by the Bernese sculptor Walter Linck (1903 – 1975), who in 1943 destroyed almost all his work at that time, and from then on worked only with metal.

Entrance Hall

There are other wall paintings by Traffelet. Left of the door you can see a rifleman from 1824 with a flintlock musket and another rifleman from 1856 with a uniform and a percussion gun.

The carved archive cabinet of the Cantonal Shooting Association of Bern of 1899 from the «Brienz woodcarving school» is particularly impressive. It is crowned by a crossbowman, standing on a bear. The centrepiece is a crossbow, a flintlock, and a repeating gun from 1889, as well as a «model 1882» revolver. A representation of the common ammunition and an arrow completes the small pictorial weaponry.

To the right of the cupboard is the old stone entrance to the society building «zun Schützen» [«to the rifleman»], constructed in 1605, which was located at Marktgasse 28 in the centre of Bern, where the «rifleman fountain», dating back to the year 1543, still stands today. The society was founded in the first half of the 15th Century and was dissolved in 1799.

Staircase

Along the staircase, the development of the weapons is reproduced: from the bow, crossbow, hand pipe, fuse and wheel lock bushes, flint and percussion guns to the breech-loading rifles, right up to the modern assault rifle. From the flintlock musket of 1817 to today's assault rifle, there are also the most common ordinance weapons of the Swiss Army, which were also used at the shooting competitions by sports-shooters.

The assault rifle Mod. 57 is a curiosity. The custom-made product shoots around corners. It was specially made for a movie.

Old rifle discs are affixed to the wall along the ramp. Such discs have been used at special events, such as weddings and jubilees since the 16th Century. They are decorated with various scenes from everyday life. It was only after the founding of the Swiss Shooting Association and with the holding of federal honorary and free shooting competitions, that uniform disc images were created.

1st Floor: Hall of Fame

The so-called hall of fame on the first floor offers space for temporary exhibitions.

PERSPECTIVE ART
Weapons from the Collections, photographed by Hrvoje Pavelic

Extended until 6 september.

1st Floor: Great Hall

At the end of the staircase in the display case stands a patron of the riflemen: The legendary Swiss freedom fighter «William Tell». The bronze statue of Tell with son «Walterli» is by the Swiss sculptor Richard Kissling (1848 – 1919). He created the large Tell monument in Altdorf, between 1882 and 1895, and he also designed this statue in his image. Another patron saint of the riflemen is St. Sebastian, also known as «Baschi». He was shot by several arrows at the behest of the Emperor Diocletian in 288 in Rome when he confessed to Christianity. The figure of the martyr probably dates from the 16th or 17th Century.

The development of the Federal shooting festivals from 1824 to the present day is shown in the large hall. Particularly worthy of note are the pictures of the Federal Shooting Festivals, which document an important part of the cultural history almost in full.

In 1829 the Federal Shooting Festival took place in Fribourg. The clergy had categorically forbidden all women to enter the venue. It was less strict in 1832 in Lucerne. For the first time a riflewoman was present. It was 14-year-old Aloysia Meyer. For the Federal Shooting Festival in Lausanne in 1836, a shooting pocket watch was produced for the first time. The watch, made of gold, is a work of the watchmaker's school in La Chaux-de-Fonds. At the Federal Shooting Festival in 1838 in St. Gallen, 10’888 participants were present. A count has shown that they drank 68’400 bottles of wine over 8 days. It was not quite as amusing in 1861 in Stans. The priestly chapter and the district administrator of the Canton Nidwalden wanted to ban the festival due to moral dangers. For recourse, the Swiss Federal Council decided that it would be just as impossible to prohibit shooting for a shooting club as it would be to forbid «singing for a singing club».

In the table cabinets in the front part of the room on the right, precious antique weapons are displayed. The decorative weapons, some of which are permanent loans from the Museum of History in Berne, are decorated with inlaid bone and horn. The oldest of these dates from 1564. Other weapons testify to the high quality of the Bernese art of gun-making of the 18th Century by Franz Ulrich and Christian Schenk. Decorative weapons were sometimes given to the winners as honorary gifts at shooting festivals. On example is the richly decorated so-called «Martini-Stutzer» in the wall showcase. This type of weapon goes back to Friedrich Ritter von Martini (1833 –1897). After a construction period of only a few weeks he had the 1869 weapon ready for series production. The rifle very quickly became a bestseller. In the same showcase, other magnificent testimonials can be admired. Outstanding examples are the silver-gilded cup of the German Emperor Wilhelm II (1859-1941); a tribute to the Cantonal Shooting Festival in Berne in 1910 or the large silver cup, a gift by King William III of the Netherlands (1817 –1890) to the Federal Shooting Festival in Lausanne in 1876. The ornate trophy shows the Battle of Murten on one side and the Battle of Sempach with the legendary «Arnold von Winkelried» on the other side. It weighs 12 kg and four men worked on it for a whole year.

At the rear of the hall, you can find the coins of the Federal shooting festivals. The watches are presented in a display case on the left side of the hall. On the back wall, the flag from 1857 of the Swiss Shooting Association is exhibited. Fragments of probably the first flag from the founding year of 1824 were found in the cantonal armoury in Aarau and these went into the collections of the museum in 1939. Despite restoration measures it cannot be exhibited for conservational reasons.

There are two life-sized figures standing next to the showcases with the sports-weapons. The world champion in Lahti, Finland 2002, Marcel Bürge (b. 1972), is depicted in original sportswear with the appropriate weapon. It is a standard rifle from the Swiss company Bleiker, with which the shooter set the world record in the three-discipline contest individually (589 points) and in the team (1,744 points). Besides him stands Andrea Brühlmann (b. 1984) in her sportswear. She has also won several gold, silver and bronze medals at national and international competitions.

Staircase

Along the stairs from the 1st to the 2nd floor, there is the typological collection of weapons, that once belonged to Dr Günther of Freiburg.

On the ceiling are some of the flags, which various clubs and associations have entrusted to the museum for storage.

2nd Floor: Great Hall

In this hall, you can find the showcases of the cantonal shooting associations (Aargau to Zurich), in alphabetical order.

In the showcases along the central aisle there are gifts and donations from well-known riflemen, who have bequeathed their collections to the Swiss Shooting Museum. What the World Champion and Olympic Champion Konrad Stäheli (1866 – 1931) from St. Gallen – his life-sized figure stands in this room – achieved in international competitions can hardly be surpassed. With his «Martini-Stutzer» he won 69 medals at world championships. Amongst many others, there is also the trophy. Also remarkable is the collection of the Bourquin-Perret family from Neuchâtel. It was put together for more than five generations from the middle of the 19th Century.

The «Kleider Frey shooting facility» was founded in 1952 as an attraction for the children of parents shopping in the fashion stores of «Kleider Frey». Since 1989, one of the three branches in the museum. The Frey clothing business was founded in 1909 in Wangen near Olten. It existed until the mid-nineties.

The figure on the back-wall is the so-called «Gatteranni». Its name comes from the former headquarters of the «Reismusketen-Schützengesell-schaft» (a noble shooting association of the city of Berne), the so-called
«Gatterkeller» at Nydeggstalden. «Gatteranni» once served there. In 1852, the establishment was demolished. The «Gatteranni» shows to the lucky marksman the successful hits with funny wriggling.

In the hexagonal showcase in the front part of the hall, many awards and trophies can be found that were won by Swiss riflemen at international matches. A silver horse on marble, a gift from Argentine President Perón as 1st prize at the a match in Stockholm in 1947, a Sèvres vase for 1st place for small-calibre at the Match Franco-Suisse in 1950 in Paris, as well as the silver oil transporter and four-piece tea service for 1st place for the army rifle (kneeling) or the match pistol in 1937 in Helsinki.

There were also living prizes to be won in Helsinki in 1937. The bear skin in the wall cabinet once belonged to the bear, which was received by the Swiss riflemen Albert Salzmann, Marius Ciocco, Emil Grünig, Karl Zimmermann and Otto Horber in Helsinki for 1st place in the army gun match. Its name – AMEKO – consists of the initial letters of the winners' first names. The bear lived at Zurich zoo until 1942. After he was put to sleep, his skin was given to the Swiss Shooting Museum.

 

Literature

Jean L. Martin, Historische Uhren der Schweiz, Lausanne 1997
Jean L. Martin, Schützenbecher der Schweiz, Lausanne 1983
Jürg Richter, Die Schützenjetons der Schweiz, Regenstauf 2005
Jürg Richter, Die Schützentaler und Schützenmedaillen der Schweiz, Regenstauf 2005
Schweizerischer Schützenverein (Hrsg.), 100 Jahre Schweizerisches Schützenmuseum 1885 – 1985, Frauenfeld 1985
Schweizerischer Schützenverein (Hrsg.), Schweizerisches Schützenmuseum Bern. Festschrift zur Einweihung am Sonntag den 26. November 1939, Bern 1939
Schweizerischen Schützenverein (Hrsg.), Schweizerischer Schützenverein 1824 – 1924. Gedenkschrift zum 100jährigen Jubiläum des Schweizerischen Schützenvereins 1824 – 1924, Bern and Zürich 1924

Musée Suisse du tir Berne

Guide du musée

Soyez les bienvenus au Musée suisse du tir Berne. Nous sommes ravis de votre visite.

Introduction

La genèse du tir en Suisse

Le tir suisse trouve son origine dans des traditions vieilles de plusieurs siècles. On apprenait à se servir de l’arc et des flèches, ainsi que de l’arbalète et de l’épieu, pour chasser le gibier mais aussi pour se défendre contre les fauves et, à l’occasion, contre d’autres Hommes.

Bien que la poudre noire ait été inventée dès le XIVe siècle, l’arme de tir la plus répandue reste l’arbalète jusqu'au milieu du XVe siècle. Lors de la guerre de Bourgogne (1474 – 1477), seule la moitié des archers est équipée d’armes à feu. En Suisse, ces dernières sont explicitement mentionnées pour la première fois en 1377 (11 carabines à St-Gall).

Tout au long du XVIIe siècle, l’arbalète est considérée comme une arme «élégante». On pratique alors le tir pour s’exercer ou pour s’amuser, surtout le dimanche, en visant des cibles ou des figurines d’animal en bois, par exemple. Ce sont ces événements qui président à la naissance des «St. Johannischiessen» dans le pays et du «Knabenschiessen» [tir des garçons], dont les premières sources documentées remontent au XVe siècle.

Le tir s’affranchit alors des campagnes pour gagner les villes parfois nouvelles. À partir du XIVe siècle, des corporations, guildes et confréries s’y constituent.

Le tir sur cible offre alors l’occasion de se rassembler et de consolider les alliances entre voisins. Dès 1378, Soleure invite différents cantons fédéraux au «tir populaire». Même à l’étranger, les tireurs voyagent pour participer à des événements, comme en 1485 à Munich ou en 1563 à Vienne.

L’expansion des villes s’accompagne aussi d’un renforcement des capacités de défense contre l’extérieur. Dans le contexte de l’Ancienne guerre de Zurich et de la guerre de Bourgogne, le tir organisé de la moitié du XVe siècle connaît un essor. Les autorités soutiennent généreusement cette ardeur mise dans la constitution d’autres sociétés en octroyant des subventions et des privilèges dans l’optique d’encourager les forces de défense. C’est à cette époque que naissent les grandes sociétés de tir : par exemple Berne, Bâle et Genève. Dans le protocole du Conseil de Schaffhouse en 1477, il est fait mention d’une «société de tir», qui accepte également de source sûre les femmes.

Ces sociétés sont considérées comme les ancêtres des fédérations de tir actuelles. Pour s’entraîner, les compagnons (membres) se réunissent sur la place de tir sous la houlette de leur maître de tir, et plus tard, au stand de tir de la «Schützenmatte». Les compagnons de tir populaire de différents cantons se rassemblent à des compétitions collectives pour des tirs organisés et l’événement étant étendu aux amis invités, il devient une fête du tir libre.

La Société suisse des carabiniers

En 1789, la Révolution éclate à Paris. La Suisse connaît alors elle aussi des troubles et des émeutes. En 1798, la République helvétique dissout l’ancienne Confédération, ce qui résulte en une succession de coups d’État et en 1803, l’Acte de Médiation écrite par Napoléon Bonaparte est votée, rétablissant l’ancien système cantonal. Après la défaite de la campagne de Russie de Napoléon (1812) et son exil, les autorités pré-révolutionnaires s’emparent à nouveau du pouvoir à la fin de l’année 1813 et les anciennes constitutions caractérisées par des inégalités sociales et politiques retournent en vigueur.

Dans cette situation agitée, les fêtes de tir et les rassemblements n’ont aucune place. Il faut attendre le Congrès de Vienne en 1815 pour que la Suisse renoue avec des relations normalisées du fait de la reconnaissance de sa neutralité. Consciente de disposer d’une patrie libre, la population constitue de nouvelles sociétés de tir partout dans le pays.

Les premières propositions de regroupement des tireurs en une fédération suisse émergent en 1820. En 1822, lors du tir cantonal à Aarau, une demande de fondation d’une Société suisse des carabiniers est officiellement déposée. En 1823, la décision suivante est rendue : «En 1824, la première Fête fédérale de tir aura lieu à Aarau et à cette occasion sera créée la Société suisse des carabiniers […].» Le 6 mars 1824, la société de tir d’Aarau invite toutes les associations connues en Suisse pour participer à la création d’une Société suisse des carabiniers.

La première Fête fédérale de tir libre à Aarau se déroule du 7 au 12 juin 1824 et voit la création de la Société suisse des carabiniers, aujourd’hui nommée Fédération sportive suisse de tir (FST).

Le Musée du tir

L’année 1885 marque la 31e Fête fédérale de tir à Berne. À cette occasion, les organisateurs décident d’ériger le «Carnotzet du tireur suisse», destiné à collectionner les trophées de tir et à exposer et conserver pour la postérité ces biens culturels essentiels.

Le rez-de-chaussée de la «Hallerhaus», située au numéro 5 de l’Inselgasse (actuelle Kochergasse) accueille le Carnotzet. En 1894, les collections prennent les quartiers du Musée d’Histoire de Berne nouvellement bâti. En 1904, la Société suisse des carabiniers reprend la gestion du Carnotzet, qui devient en 1914 le Musée suisse du tir.

En 1937, l’assemblée des délégués de la Société suisse des carabiniers décide de la construction d’un nouveau musée à la Bernastrasse 5. Dès 1939, le Musée du tir s’installe dans ses locaux actuels.

En 1987 et en 1990, l’intérieur et l’extérieur du Musée sont rénovés. Le réaménagement du 2nd étage a, quant à lui, été effectué en 2004.

 

Parcours à travers les collections

Façade extérieure

Au-dessus de l’entrée se trouve une représentation du tir volontaire en Suisse, peinte par l’artiste bernois Friedrich Traffelet (1897 – 1954). Le porte-drapeau, le vacher Gruyère à sa droite et les ouvriers occupent une place centrale et incarnent le peuple suisse dans son unité. Juste à côté se trouve un tireur vétéran à la chevelure blanche, montrant le drapeau suisse à un jeune tireur et à un garçon armé d’une arbalète et leur rappelant leur fidélité à la patrie. Ces personnages sont flanqués de deux soldats à gauche et à droite, qui symbolisent la protection frontalière contre l’extérieur. Traffelet leur a en partie prêté les traits des membres de la commission de construction du nouveau bâtiment du Musée.

À droite de l’entrée, quatre bustes de présidents émérites de la Société suisse des carabiniers s’extraient de la façade. Elles ont été réalisées par le sculpteur bernois Walter Linck (1903 – 1975), qui a détruit en 1943 la quasi-totalité de ses ouvrages passés et travaillé uniquement le métal par la suite.

Hall dentrée

Des peintures murales de Traffelet ornent également le hall d’entrée. À gauche des portes se trouve un tireur de 1824 équipé d’un fusil à silex et à droite, un tireur de 1856 en uniforme, tenant un fusil à percussion.

L’élément remarquable ici est l’armoire d’archives de l’Association cantonale bernoise de tir, sculptée en 1899 par l’école d’ébénisterie de Brienz. L’armoire est ornée d’un arbalétrier debout sur un ours. Au milieu sont dépeints une arbalète, une carabine à silex et un fusil à répétition datant de 1889, ainsi qu’un revolver «modèle 1882». Une représentation des munitions utilisées et d’une flèche complète cette petite étude illustrée des armes.

À droite de l’armoire est exposée l’ancienne entrée en pierre du domaine de la société «zun Schützen», datant de 1605, qui se trouvait à la Marktgasse 28, dans le centre de Berne, où se dresse aujourd’hui la Fontaine du Tireur réalisée en 1543. Cette société avait été fondée dans la première moitié du XVe siècle et s’était dissoute en 1799.

Montée descalier

Tout au long de la montée d’escalier, c’est l’évolution des armes qui est montrée : arcs, arbalètes, tromblons, carabines à mèche et à rouet, fusils à silex et à percussion, armes à chargement par la culasse et fusils d’assaut modernes. Du fusil à silex de 1817 au fusil d’assaut d’aujourd’hui, on retrouve aussi les armes d’ordonnance les plus fréquentes de l’armée suisse, utilisées lors des fêtes de tir par des tireurs civils.

Sur le mur de l’escalier sont exposées de vieilles cibles, d’usage dès le XVIe siècle pour les tirs des occasions spéciales : par exemple mariages et commémoration. Celles-ci sont ornées de différentes scènes issues du quotidien. Ce n’est qu’après la création de la Société suisse des carabiniers et l’organisation de tirs libres et de tirs d’honneur que les représentations sur les cibles se sont considérablement harmonisées.

Curiosité au passage : le fusil dassaut modèle 57, une pièce spéciale à canon courbé qui a été créée pour un film.

1er étage : Salle dhonneur

La salle dhonneur au 1er étage est un espace dédié aux expositions temporaires.

PERSPECTVE ART
Armes des collections, photographiées par Hrvoje Pavelic

Prolongée jusqu'à 6 sepembre.

1er étage : Grande salle

Dans la vitrine en haut de lescalier se trouve un patron du tir : Le légendaire défenseur de la liberté suisse Guillaume Tell. Cette statue en bronze de Tell avec son fils Walter est une œuvre du sculpteur suisse Richard Kissling (1848 1919), qui a repris limage du grand monument à la mémoire de Tell à Altdorf quil avait réalisée entre 1882 et 1895. Lautre saint protecteur des tireurs est Saint-Sébastien, surnommé «Baschi» dans le milieu du tir, a été transpercé de flèches en 288 à Rome, sur ordre de lempereur Dioclétien, pour sêtre converti au christianisme. La figure du martyr date probablement du XVIe ou du XVIIe siècle.

La grande salle montre l’évolution des fêtes fédérales de tir de 1824 à nos jours. Les tableaux valent particulièrement le coup d’œil, documentant presque sans interruption un chapitre important de l’Histoire culturelle.

En 1829, la Fête fédérale de tir s’est déroulée à Fribourg. Le clergé avait alors catégoriquement interdit l’accès à la place de tir à toutes les femmes. En 1832, à Lucerne, les règles se sont faites moins strictes. Pour la première fois, une tireuse était représentée : Aloysia Meyer, âgée de 14 ans. À l’occasion de la Fête fédérale de tir de 1836 à Lausanne, une montre de poche a été confectionnée. La pièce en or est l’œuvre de l’école d’horlogerie de La Chaux-de-Fonds. La Fête fédérale de 1838 à St-Gall a recensé 10’888 participants. Selon les comptes, 68’400 bouteilles de vin ont été consommées pendant ces 8 jours de fête. L’ambiance était beaucoup moins festive en 1861, à Stans. Le collège de prêtres et le Grand Conseil de Nidwald voulaient purement et simplement bannir la fête pour atteinte à la morale. Suite à un recours, le Conseil Fédéral a décidé qu’il était autant possible d’interdire à une société de tir de tirer «qu’à une chorale de chanter».

Dans les consoles vitrées, dans la partie avant droite de la salle, sont exposées d’anciennes armes d’une grande valeur. Les armes de cérémonie, certaines prêtées à long terme par le Musée d’Histoire de Berne, sont incrustées d’ornements en os et en corne. La pièce la plus ancienne date de 1564. D’autres armes révèlent l’excellente facture des armuriers bernois du XVIIIe siècle, Franz Ulrich et Christian Schenk. Les armes de cérémonie étaient remises comme récompenses aux vainqueurs de fêtes de tir. Dans la vitrine murale il y a un exemple : La carabine Martini richement décorée est attribuée à Friedrich Ritter von Martini (1833 – 1897). Après seulement quelques semaines de construction en 1869, l’arme était déjà prête pour une production en série et en très peu de temps, elle est devenue un succès commercial. Dans la même vitrine se trouve la coupe en argent doré, don de l’empereur allemand Guillaume II (1859 – 1941) à la Fête fédérale de tir de Berne de 1910 et la grande coupe en argent, offerte par Sa Majesté le Roi Guillaume III des Pays-Bas (1817 – 1890) à l’occasion de la Fête fédérale de tir de Lausanne de 1876. Richement ornée, la coupe montre la bataille de Morat d’un côté et la bataille de Sempach et le légendaire Winkelried de l’autre. Pesant 12 kg, elle a mobilisé quatre artistes pendant toute une année.

Au fond de la salle sont exposés les pièces et thalers de toutes les fêtes fédérales de tir. Les montres de poche remises aux différentes fêtes fédérales sont présentées dans une vitrine située sur la partie gauche de la salle.

Sur le mur du fond est accrochée la deuxième bannière centrale de la Société suisse des carabiniers, réalisée vers 1857. Des restes de ce qui devait être la première bannière datant de 1824 ont été retrouvés dans l’arsenal cantonal dAarau et ont rejoint en 1939 les collections du Musée du tir. Malgré toutes les restaurations dont ils ont fait lobjet, pour assurer leur conservation, ils ne peuvent pas être exposés.

Deux statues grandeur nature se dressent à côtés des vitrines avec des pistolets du sport. Marcel Bürge (née 1972), champion du monde à Lathi (Finlande) en 2002, est représenté dans sa tenue sportive originale et son équipement, une carabine standard de la maison suisse Bleiker, avec lequel il sest illustré seul (589 points) et en équipe (1744 points), arrachant le record du monde dans les trois positions. L’autre statue est Andrea Brühlmann (née 1984) avec son équipement sportif, qui a également remporté un bon nombre de médailles dor, dargent et de bronze à des compétitions nationales et internationales.

Montée descalier

Le long de lescalier qui conduit du 1er au 2nd étage se trouve la collection darmes typologiques du Dr Reinhold Günther, de Fribourg (1863 – 1910).

Au plafond sont suspendues quelques bannières que des fédérations et sociétés de tir ont confiées au Musée pour assurer leur préservation.

2nd étage : Grande salle

Cette salle abrite les vitrines des sociétés cantonales, dArgovie à Zurich, dans lordre alphabétique.

Les vitrines dans le couloir central contiennent des dons et dotations de tireurs connus qui ont légué leurs collections au Musée. Champion du monde et champion olympique, le Saint-Gallois Konrad Stäheli (1866 1931) – présent comme statue – na encore jamais été égalé lors de compétitions internationales. Avec sa carabine Martini, il a remporté 69 médailles aux championnats du monde. Notons à cette occasion aussi la collection de trophées de la famille Perret-Bourquin de Neuchâtel, transmise sur cinq générations depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle.

Les stands de tir «Kleider Frey» ont été installés en 1952 pour faire le bonheur des enfants dont les parents faisaient leurs achats dans les boutiques de mode «Kleider Frey». Depuis 1989, lun des trois stands se trouve au Musée. L’entreprise a ouvert ses portes en 1909 à Wangen bei Olten et maintenu son activité jusquau milieu des années 90.

Sur le mur se trouve la «Gatteranni», du nom de la serveuse de lancienrestaurant des habitués de la société «Reismusketen» de la ville de Berne, le «Gatterkeller» à Nydeggstalden. Cette buvette a été rasée en 1852. Par ses frétillements comiques, la «Gatteranni» montre aux tireurs chanceux leurs cibles.

Dans la vitrine hexagonale à lavant de la salle se trouvent les nombreux prix et coupes remportés par les tireurs suisses à lissue de compétitions internationales. En dessous, on peut admirer un cheval en argent sur marbre, don du président argentin Juan Perón pour le vainqueur de la compétition de tir de 1947 à Stockholm, un vase Sèvres destiné au vainqueur à la carabine de petit libre au Match Franco-Suisse de 1950 à Paris ainsi que le pétrolier argenté et le service de thé en 4 pièces remis au champion au fusil dordonnance à genoux et au pistolet de compétition en 1937 à Helsinki.

Ce même événement a également vu la remise dun prix vivant : la peau dans la vitrine murale appartenait à lours que les tireurs suisses Albert Salzmann, Marius Ciocco, Emil Grünig, Karl Zimmermann et Otto Horber ont reçu en 1937 à Helsinki en accédant à la première place du podium à lissue du match au fusil dordonnance. Son nom, AMEKO, est astucieusement constitué de la première lettre du prénom de chaque vainqueur. Lours a vécu jusquen 1942 au Zoo de Zurich et après avoir dû être endormi, sa peau a rejoint le Musée du tir.

 

 

Littérature

Jean L. Martin, Montres historiques suisses, Lausanne 1997
Jean L. Martin, Coupes de tir suisses, Lausanne 1983
Jürg Richter, Die Schützenjetons der Schweiz, Regenstauf 2005
Jürg Richter, Die Schützentaler und Schützenmedaillen der Schweiz, Regenstauf 2005
Société suisse des carabiniers (ed.), 100 ans Musée suisse des carabiniers à Berne 1885 – 1985, Frauenfeld 1985
Société suisse des Carabiniers (ed.), Schweizerisches Schützenmuseum Bern. Festschrift zur Einweihung am Sonntag den 26. November 1939, Bern 1939
Société suisse des Carabiniers (ed.), Société suisse des Carabiniers 1824 – 1924. Album commémoratif de la Société suisse des Carabiniers 1824 – 1924, Bern et Zürich 1924