Museum guide

Welcome to the Swiss Shooting Museum Bern. We are looking forward to your visit.

Introduction

The development of marksmanship in Switzerland

Swiss marksmanship is based on traditions that go back centuries. The training with bows and arrows, as well as with crossbows and spears, served in particular for hunting and defence. Until the middle of the 15th century, the crossbow was the dominant firearm.

The growth of the cities was accompanied by the strengthening of border protection. Against the backdrop of the Old Zurich War (1440–1450) and the Burgundian Wars (1474–1477), organised shooting experienced an upswing from the middle of the 15th century. With a view to external defence, the founding of shooting societies was generously supported by the authorities, with donations and the granting of privileges.

But target shooting also provided an opportunity to meet and strengthen neighbourly alliances. As early as 1378, Solothurn invited the "gemein Schjssgsellen" [common shooting fellows] of various Confederate towns to a joint competition. If other participants, so-called "free invitees", were also invited, the festivities became a so-called "free shooting". Marksmen also travelled abroad, for example to Munich in 1485 or Vienna in 1563.

 

The Swiss Shooting Association

When the revolution broke out in Paris in 1789, unrest and uprisings also followed in Switzerland. In 1798, the Helvetic Republic replaced the old Confederation. Napoleon Bonaparte's Act of Mediation restored the old cantonal system in 1803. After Napoleon's defeat in the Russian campaign (1812) and his exile, the pre-revolutionary authorities took power at the end of 1813 and the old constitutions with their social and political inequalities were reinstated.

No shooting festivals took place during this political turmoil. It was not until the Congress of Vienna in 1815 and the establishment of Swiss neutrality that order was restored. With the awareness of having a free fatherland, new shooting societies were formed throughout the country.

First ideas to unite the marksmen into a federal association emerged in Aarau in 1820. On 6 March 1824, the Aarau Shooting Society invited all known shooting societies in Switzerland to found a Federal Shooting Association (today’s swissshooting). The first Federal Shooting Festival took place in Aarau from 7 to 12 June 1824.

 

The Swiss Shooting Museum

In 1885, the 31st Federal Shooting Festival took place in Bern. In the aftermath of the festival, the organisers decided to set up a "Schützenstube" [Shooters Cabinet] with the purpose of collecting shooting trophies, displaying them and preserving them for posterity.

The collections were housed in the so-called Haller-Haus in the City of Berne. In 1894 they were moved to the newly built Historical Museum of Berne. In 1904 the Swiss Shooting Association took over the patronage of the "Schützenstube" and in 1914 it became the Swiss Shooting Museum.

In 1937, the delegates' meeting of the Swiss Shooting Association decided to build a new museum at Bernastrasse 5. It began operating at its present location as early as 1939. In 2007 the museum was transferred to a non-profit foundation.

 

Tour of the Collections

Outer Façade

The mural painting by the Bernese artist Friedrich Traffelet (1897–1954) depicts voluntary shooting in Switzerland. The flag bearer, the "Gruyère Senn" and the armed worker stand centrally and embody the Swiss Shooting Association. To the right, a white-haired veteran marksman points out the Swiss flag to two young marksmen. The group is flanked by two soldiers on each side. They symbolise border protection. Some of the figures represent members of the building committee for the new museum building.

To the right of the entrance, four sculptures of shooting personalities are mounted on the façade. They were made by the Bernese sculptor Walter Linck (1903-1975), who destroyed almost all his work in 1943 and from then on worked only with metal.

 

Entrance Hall

In the entrance hall there are further mural paintings by Traffelet. On the left of the door is a marksman from 1824 with a flintlock rifle and on the right a uniformed marksman from 1856 with a percussion rifle.

The carved archive cabinet of the Bernese Cantonal Shooting Association from 1899 was manufactured in the "Schnitzlerschule Brienz" [woodcarving school in Brienz]. It is crowned by a crossbowman standing on a bear. The centrepiece is a crossbow, a flintlock and a repeating rifle from 1889 as well as a revolver "Model 1882". The depiction of common ammunition and an arrow completes the pictorial weaponry.

On the right-hand side of the cabinet is the old stone entrance to the house of the "zun Schützen" [To the Marksman] Society from 1605, which stood at Marktgasse in the City. The society was founded in the first half of the 15th century and dissolved in 1799.

 

Staircase

Along the staircase the development of weapons from the arrow bow, cross-bow, handgun, matchlock and wheel lock rifles, flint and percussion rifles and breech-loaders to the modern assault rifle is shown. Among them are also the most common ordnance weapons of the Swiss Army, which are also used by sport shooters in competitions. A curiosity is the "Model 57" assault rifle. This special model shoots around corners and was made for a film.

Old marksmen's targets are hung on the wall. Such wooden targets have been used since the 16th century for special occasions such as weddings or anniversaries. It was not until the founding of the Swiss Shooting Association and the holding of the Federal Shooting Festivals that uniform target images were created.

 

1ST Floor: Hall of Fame

The so-called hall of fame on the first floor offers space for temporary exhibitions.

until 31.07.2021

ALL IN GOOD TIME
A Tour d'Horizon through the Collections

 

1st Floor: Great Hall

In the display case at the end of the staircase is the legendary Swiss freedom fighter "Wilhelm Tell". The model for the bronze statue comes from the Swiss sculptor Richard Kissling (1848–1919), who created the large Tell monument in Altdorf between 1882 and 1895.

In the wall showcase is St. Sebastian, also known as "Baschi". The patron saint, also of marksmen, was riddled with arrows in Rome in 288 at the behest of Emperor Diocletian when he professed Christianity. The larger figure probably dates from the 16th or 17th century, the smaller figure is somewhat younger and served as an offertory. The silver-gilt cup of the German Emperor Wilhelm II (1859–1941) in the same display case was an honourary gift to the Federal Shooting Festival in Bern in 1910 [currently on display in the special exhibition].

Weapons were also given as gifts to the winners at shooting festivals. In the table showcases in the front part of the room on the right-hand side, so-called splendour or decorative weapons are exhibited, some with inlays of bone and horn. Other weapons bear witness to the high quality of Bernese gunsmithing in the 18th century by Franz Ulrich and Christian Schenk.

In the Great Hall, the development of the Federal Shooting Festival from 1824 to the present day is shown. The graphics document an important part of cultural history.

In 1829, the Federal Shooting Festival took place in Fribourg. All women were categorically forbidden to enter the festival grounds. It was less strict in Lucerne in 1832, when a 14-year-old woman, Aloysia Meyer, was represented for the first time. A shooters' pocket watch was produced for the first time for the 1836 Federal Shooting Festival in Lausanne. The gold watch came from the La Chaux-de-Fonds School of Horology. At the 1838 Federal Shooting Festival in St. Gallen, 10’888 participants drank 68’400 bottles of wine within 8 days. It was not quite as much fun in Stans in 1861. The church and the Council of the Canton of Nidwalden wanted to ban the festival because of moral dangers. On appeal, the Swiss Federal Council decided that a shooting society could no more be banned from shooting than a singing society could be banned from singing.

At the back of the hall is the large silver cup that King William III of the Netherlands (1817–1890) had made as a gift for the Federal Shooting Festival in Lausanne in 1876. The showpiece depicts the Battle of Murten on one side and the Battle of Sempach with the legendary Winkelried on the other. It weighs 12 kg and four workers spent a whole year creating it.

On the back wall hangs the so-called "central flag" of the Swiss Shooting Association from 1857. Fragments of what was presumably the first flag from 1824 were found in the cantonal armoury in Aarau and entered the collections in 1939. For conservational reasons, they remain in the depot.

The coins and thalers as well as the pocket watches of several Federal Shooting Festivals are in display cases at the back and on the window side.

In the front part of the hall on the left-hand side is a selection of sporting pistols. Some of them are custom-made for athletes.

 

Staircase

Along the staircase to the first floor is the weapons collection of Dr. Reinhold Günther from Freiburg (1863–1919).

Hanging from the ceiling are some of the almost 300 flags that various societies and associations have entrusted to the museum.

 

2nd Floor: Great Hall

In this room are the showcases of the cantonal shooting associations in alphabetical order.

The wall showcase is about Swiss shooting traditions abroad. The small exhibition was designed in collaboration with guests.

The showcases along the central aisle contain gifts and donations from well-known shooters. What the world champion and Olympic winner Konrad Stäheli (1866–1931) from St. Gallen, depicted as a life-size figure, achieved in international competitions can hardly be surpassed.

From 1952, air rifle shooting was offered as a children's attraction in the fashion shops of "Kleider Frey" (1909 to the mid-1990s). Since 1989, one of the three air rifle ranges has been in the museum.

The figure on the back wall is the so-called "Gatteranni". The name derives from the former meeting location of the Bernese Reismusketen Shooting Society, the "Gatterkeller" in the City of Berne, where "Gatteranni" served. In 1852, the establishment was demolished. By fidgeting merrily, "Gatteranni" indicates the hit to the lucky shooter.

In the hexagonal display case on the left are prizes won by Swiss marksmen at international competitions. These include a silver horse on marble, a gift from the Argentine President Perón for 1st prize in the 1947 "Stutzer-Competition" in Stockholm, a Sèvres vase for 1st place with small-calibre shooting in the 1950 Franco-Suisse Match in Paris, as well as the silver oil transport ship and the 4-piece tea service for 1st place with the army rifle kneeling and with the match pistol in 1937 in Helsinki.

There were also live prizes to be won in Helsinki in 1937. The fur in the wall display case once belonged to the bear cub that the Swiss athletes Albert Salzmann, Marius Ciocco, Emil Grünig, Karl Zimmermann and Otto Horber received for 1st place in the army rifle match in Helsinki in 1937. Its name - AMEKO - is composed of the first letters of the winners' first names. The bear lived in Zurich Zoo until 1942. After it had to be put to sleep, its fur was donated to the museum.

 

Literature

Jean L. Martin, Historische Uhren der Schweiz, Lausanne 1997
Jean L. Martin, Schützenbecher der Schweiz, Lausanne 1983
Jürg Richter, Die Schützenjetons der Schweiz, Regenstauf 2005
Jürg Richter, Die Schützentaler und Schützenmedaillen der Schweiz, Regenstauf 2005
Schweizerischer Schützenverein (Hrsg.), 100 Jahre Schweizerisches Schützenmuseum 1885 – 1985, Frauenfeld 1985
Schweizerischer Schützenverein (Hrsg.), Schweizerisches Schützenmuseum Bern. Festschrift zur Einweihung am Sonntag den 26. November 1939, Bern 1939
Schweizerischen Schützenverein (Hrsg.), Schweizerischer Schützenverein 1824 – 1924. Gedenkschrift zum 100jährigen Jubiläum des Schweizerischen Schützenvereins 1824 – 1924, Bern and Zürich 1924

Schweizer Schützenmuseum Bern

Museumsführer

Herzlich Willkommen im Schweizer Schützenmuseum Bern. Wir freuen uns über Ihren Besuch.

Einleitung

Die Entwicklung des Schützenwesens in der Schweiz

Das Schweizerische Schützenwesen gründet auf eine Jahrhunderte alte Überlieferung. Die Ausbildung an Pfeil und Bogen sowie an Armbrust und Speer diente insbesondere zur Jagd und zur Verteidigung. Bis Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts war die Armbrust die dominierende Schusswaffe.

Mit dem Wachstum der Städte ging auch die Sicherung der Stadtmauern einher. Vor dem Hintergrund des alten Zürichkrieges (1440–1450) und den Burgunderkriegen (1474–1477) erlebte das organisierte Schiesswesen ab Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts einen Aufschwung. Die Gründung von Schützengesellschaften wurde von der Obrigkeit mit Blick auf die Verteidigung gegen aussen mit Spenden und Gewährung von Privilegien grosszügig unterstützt.

Das Scheibenschiessen bot Gelegenheit zu Zusammenkünften und Festigung von nachbarschaftlichen Bündnissen. Bereits 1378 lud Solothurn die «gemein Schjssgsellen» verschiedener eidgenössischer Orte zum gemeinsamen Wettkampf ein. Nahmen dabei auch andere, sog. Freigeladene, teil, so wurde das Fest zum Freischiessen. Auch ins Ausland reisten die Schützen, beispielsweise 1485 nach München oder 1563 nach Wien.

 

Der Schweizerische Schützenverein

Auf die Pariser Revolution von 1789 folgten auch in der Schweiz Unruhen und Aufstände. 1798 löste die Helvetische Republik die alte Eidgenossenschaft ab, doch schon mit Napoleons Mediationsakte von 1803 wurde das alte kantonale System wiederhergestellt. Nach Napoleons Niederlage übernahmen Ende 1813 die vorrevolutionären Behörden die Macht, die alten Verfassungen mit ihren sozialen und politischen Ungleichheiten wurden wieder in Kraft gesetzt.

In diesen politischen Wirren fanden keine Schützenfeste statt. Erst der Wienerkongress 1815 und die Festlegung der schweizerischen Neutralität brachten geordnete Verhältnisse. Im Bewusstsein eines freien Vaterlandes bildeten sich überall im Lande neue Schützengesellschaften.

Erste Ideen zum Zusammenschluss der Schützen zu einem eidgenössischen Verbund kamen 1820 im liberalen Kanton Aargau auf. Am 6. März 1824 lud die Schützengesellschaft Aarau alle bekannten Schützenvereine in der Schweiz zur Gründung eines Eidgenössischen Schützenvereins (heute Schweizer Schiesssportverband SSV) ein. Das erste Eidgenössische Freischiessen fand vom 7. bis 12. Juni 1824 in Aarau statt.

 

Das Schützenmuseum

1885 fand in Bern das 31. Eidgenössische Schützenfest statt. Im Nachgang zum Fest beschlossen die Organisatoren die Errichtung einer «Schützenstube» mit dem Zweck, Schützentrophäen zu sammeln, zur Schau zu stellen und der Nachwelt zu erhalten.

Untergebracht waren die Sammlungen im sog. Haller-Haus an der Inselgasse (heute Kochergasse). 1894 wurden sie in das neu erbaute Bernische Historische Museum verbracht. 1904 übernahm der SSV das Patronat über die Schützenstube, welche er 1914 in Schweizerisches Schützenmuseum umbenannte.

1937 beschloss die Delegiertenversammlung des SSV einen Museums-Neubau an der Bernastrasse 5. Bereits Ende 1939 wurde der Museumsbetrieb am heutigen Standort aufgenommen. 2007 wurde das Museum in eine gemeinnützige Stiftung überführt.

 

Rundgang durch die Sammlungen

Aussenfassade

Das Wandbild des Berner Künstlers Friedrich Traffelet (1897–1954) stellt das freiwillige Schiesswesen in der Schweiz dar. Der Fahnenträger, der Greyerzer-Senn und der bewaffnete Arbeiter stehen zentral und verkörpern den SSV. Rechts daneben sieht man einen weisshaarigen Schützenveteranen, der zwei Jungschützen auf die Schweizerfahne hinweist. Die Gruppe wird von je zwei Soldaten flankiert. Sie symbolisieren den Grenzschutz gegen aussen. Einige Figuren stellen Mitglieder der Baukommission für den Museumsneubau dar.

Rechts vom Eingang sind vier Plastiken von Schützenpersönlichkeiten an der Fassade angebracht. Angefertigt wurden sie vom Berner Bildhauer Walter Linck (1903–1975), der im Jahr 1943 fast sein ganzes damaliges Werk zerstörte und fortan nur noch mit Metall arbeitete.

 

Eingangshalle

In der Eingangshalle befinden sich weitere Wandmalereien von Traffelet: Links ein Schütze aus dem Jahr 1824 mit einem Steinschlossgewehr und rechts einer aus dem Jahr 1856 mit einem Perkussionsgewehr.

Der geschnitzte Archivschrank des Kantonal Bernischen Schützenvereins von 1899 stammt aus der «Schnitzlerschule Brienz». Gekrönt wird er durch einen auf einem Bären stehenden Armbrustschützen. Mittig sind eine Armbrust, ein Steinschlossstutzer und ein Repetiergewehr aus dem Jahr 1889 sowie ein Revolver «Modell 1882» abgebildet. Die Darstellung der gängigen Munition und eines Pfeils schliesst die bildliche Waffenkunde ab.

Rechts daneben ist der alte steinerne Eingang zum Gesellschaftshaus «zun Schützen» von 1605 eingebaut, das früher an der Marktgasse 28 stand, wo heute noch der Schützenbrunnen von 1543 steht. Die Gesellschaft wurde in der ersten Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts gegründet und löste sich 1799 auf.

 

Treppenaufgang

Der Treppenaufgang zeigt die Entwicklung der Waffen von Pfeilbogen, Armbrust, Handrohr, Lunten- und Radschlossbüchsen, Feuerstein- und Perkussionsgewehr und Hinterladern bis zum modernen Sturmgewehr. Darunter sind auch die gängigsten Ordonanzwaffen der Schweizer Armee, welche bei Wettkämpfen auch von Sportschützen eingesetzt werden. Eine Kuriosität ist das Sturmgewehr «Modell 57». Die Spezialanfertigung schiesst um die Ecke und wurde für einen Film angefertigt.

An der Wand hängen alte hölzerne Schützenscheiben. Verwendet wurden solche seit dem 16. Jahrhundert bei besonderen Anlässen wie Hochzeiten oder Jubiläen. Erst seit der Gründung des SSV und mit Abhaltung von Eidgenössischen Ehr- und Freischiessen gibt es zusehends einheitliche Scheibenbilder.

 

1. Obergeschoss: Ehrenhalle

Die sog. Ehrenhalle im 1. Stock bietet Raum für Wechselausstellungen.

aktuell bis 31.07.2021

ALLES ZU SEINER ZEIT
Eine Tour d'Horizon durch die Sammlungen

 

1. Obergeschoss: Grosser Saal

In der Vitrine am Ende des Treppenaufgangs steht der legendäre Schweizer Freiheitskämpfer «Wilhelm Tell». Die Vorlage für die Bronzestatue stammt vom Schweizer Bildhauer Richard Kissling (1848–1919), der zwischen 1882 und 1895 das grosse Tell-Denkmal in Altdorf geschaffen hat.

In der Wandvitrine steht der heilige St. Sebastian, in Schützenkreisen auch «Baschi» genannt. Der Schutzpatron, u.a. auch der Schützen, wurde anno 288 auf Geheiss von Kaiser Diokletian in Rom mit Pfeilen durchlöchert, nachdem er sich zum Christentum bekannte. Die grössere Figur stammt vermutlich aus dem 16. oder 17. Jahrhundert, die kleinere ist etwas jünger und diente als Opferstock. Der silbervergoldete Pokal des Deutschen Kaisers Wilhelm II. (1859–1941) in derselben Vitrine war eine Ehrengabe an das Eidgenössische Schützenfest in Bern 1910 [zur Zeit in der Sonderausstellung zu sehen].

Auch Waffen wurden an Schützenfesten als Gaben an die Gewinner abgegeben. In den Tischvitrinen im vorderen Teil des Grossen Saales sind sog. Prunkwaffen, teilweise mit Einlegearbeiten aus Knochen und Horn, ausgestellt. Andere Waffen zeugen von der hohen Qualität der Berner Büchsenmacherkunst von Franz Ulrich und Christian Schenk im 18. Jahrhundert.

Ansonsten wird im Grossen Saal die Entwicklung der Eidgenössischen Schützenfeste von 1824 bis heute gezeigt. Die Grafiken dokumentieren dabei fast lückenlos einen wichtigen Teil dieser Kulturgeschichte.

1829 fand das Eidgenössische Schützenfest in Freiburg statt. Allen Frauen war der Zutritt zum Festplatz kategorisch verboten. Weniger streng war es 1832 in Luzern, als mit der 14jährigen Aloysia Meyer zum ersten Mal eine Schützin vertreten war. Für das Eidgenössische Schützenfest 1836 in Lausanne wurde erstmals eine Schützen-Taschenuhr produziert. Diese Golduhr stammt aus der Uhrenmacherschule von La Chaux-de-Fonds. Am Eidgenössischen Schützenfest 1838 in St. Gallen haben 10'888 Teilnehmer während 8 Tagen 68'400 Flaschen Wein getrunken. Nicht ganz so lustig war es 1861 in Stans. Die Kirche und der Landrat von Nidwalden wollten das Fest wegen sittlicher Gefahren verbieten. Auf Rekurs hin entschied der Bundesrat, dass man einem Schiessverein das Schiessen ebenso wenig verbieten könne wie einem Sängerverein das Singen.

Hinten im Saal steht der grosse Silberpokal, den König Wilhelm III. der Niederlande (1817–1890) als Geschenk an den SSV anlässlich des Eidgenössischen Schützenfestes in Lausanne von 1876 anfertigen liess. Das 12 kg schwere Prunkstück zeigt die Schlacht bei Murten auf der einen und die Schlacht bei Sempach mit dem legendären Winkelried auf der anderen Seite. Vier Arbeiter haben während eines ganzen Jahres daran gearbeitet.

An der Rückwand hängt die sog. «Zentralfahne» von 1857 des SSV. Fragmente der vermutlich ersten Fahne aus dem Gründungsjahr 1824 wurden im kantonalen Zeughaus Aarau aufgefunden und kamen 1939 in die Sammlungen. Aus konservatorischen Gründen verbleiben sie im Depot.

Die Münzen und Taler sowie die Taschenuhren der Eidgenössischen Schützenfeste befinden sich in Vitrinen rück- und fensterseitig.

Im vorderen linken Teil des Saales befindet sich eine Auswahl von Sportpistolen, wovon einige Sonderanfertigungen für Athletinnen und Athleten sind.

 

Treppenaufgang

Entlang des Treppenaufgangs ins 2. Obergeschoss befindet sich die Waffensammlung von Dr. Reinhold Günther aus Freiburg (1863–1919).

An der Decke hängt ein kleiner Teil der fast 300 Fahnen, die verschiedene Vereine und Verbände dem Schützenmuseum zur Aufbewahrung anvertraut haben.

 

2. Obergeschoss: Grosser Saal

Im diesem Saal befinden sich die Vitrinen der kantonalen Schützenverbände in alphabetischer Reihenfolge.

In der Wandvitrine wird die Schweizer Schützentradition im Ausland gezeigt. Die kleine Ausstellung wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Museumsbesuchern gestaltet.

Die Vitrinen entlang des Mittelgangs beinhalten Gaben und Schenkungen bekannter Schützen. Was der Weltmeister und Olympiasieger Konrad Stäheli (1866–1931) aus St. Gallen, als lebensgrosse Figur dargestellt, an internationalen Wettkämpfen erreichte, kann heutzutage kaum mehr übertroffen werden.

Ab 1952 wurde in den Modegeschäften von «Kleider Frey» (1909 bis Mitte der 90er Jahre) als Kinderattraktion Luftgewehrschiessen angeboten. Seit 1989 befindet sich eine der drei Anlagen im Schützenmuseum.

Die Figur an der Rückwand ist das sog. «Gatteranni». Der Name stammt vom einstigen Stammlokal der burgerlichen Reismusketen-Schützengesellschaft Bern, dem Gatterkeller am Nydeggstalden, wo «Gatteranni» servierte. 1852 wurde das Trinklokal abgebrochen. Durch lustiges Zappeln zeigt «Gatteranni» dem glücklichen Schützen den Treffer an.

In der Sechseckvitrine linkerhand sind jene Preise, welche die Schweizer Schützen an internationalen Wettkämpfen gewonnen haben. Darunter ein Silberpferd auf Marmor, ein Geschenk des argentinischen Präsidenten Perón für den 1. Preis des Stutzermatches 1947 in Stockholm, eine Sèvres-Vase für den 1. Rang mit dem Kleinkaliberstutzer im Match Franco-Suisse 1950 in Paris sowie das silberne Öltransportschiff und das 4-teilige Tee-Service für den 1. Rang mit dem Armeegewehr kniend bzw. mit der Matchpistole 1937 in Helsinki.

Auch einen Lebendpreis gab es 1937 in Helsinki zu gewinnen. Das Bärenfell in der Wandvitrine gehörte einst dem Jüngbären, der 1937 die Schweizer Athleten Albert Salzmann, Marius Ciocco, Emil Grünig, Karl Zimmermann und Otto Horber in Helsinki für den 1. Platz im Armeegewehr-Match erhielten. Sein Name – AMEKO – setzt sich aus den Anfangsbuchstaben der Vornamen der Gewinner zusammen. Der Bär lebte bis 1942 im Zürcher Zoo. Nachdem er eingeschläfert werden musste, kam sein Fell ins Schützenmuseum.

 

Literatur

Jean L. Martin, Historische Uhren der Schweiz, Lausanne 1997
Jean L. Martin, Schützenbecher der Schweiz, Lausanne 1983
Jürg Richter, Die Schützenjetons der Schweiz, Regenstauf 2005
Jürg Richter, Die Schützentaler und Schützenmedaillen der Schweiz, Regenstauf 2005
Schweizerischer Schützenverein (Hrsg.), 100 Jahre Schweizerisches Schützenmuseum 1885 – 1985, Frauenfeld 1985
Schweizerischer Schützenverein (Hrsg.), Schweizerisches Schützenmuseum Bern. Festschrift zur Einweihung am Sonntag den 26. November 1939, Bern 1939
Schweizerischen Schützenverein (Hrsg.), Schweizerischer Schützenverein 1824 – 1924. Gedenkschrift zum 100jährigen Jubiläum des Schweizerischen Schützenvereins 1824 – 1924, Bern und Zürich 1924